Nico Muhly: Stabat Mater Dolorosa - Parts

Livre | Soprano, Baryton, Ensemble d'École

Éditeur: St Rose
Compositeur: Nico Muhly
Format: Partitions | Parties

Nico Muhly's Stabat Mater Dolorosa for Soprano, Baritone and Ensemble. Parts.

My Stabat Mater is a very simply-constructed piece of music. I knew I wanted to write a duet, a piece of religious music, and something to go along with a bit of Birtwistle. My initial instinct was to base the piece on drones, as Birtwistle's music has so very many notes, but then I decided that an austere but ecstatic approach was the best to fill a coherent evening. I asked my friend Craig Lucas to paraphrase the Stabat Mater text - which describes the Virgin Mary weeping at the foot of the cross on which her son is crucified. The piece is organised by separating each phrase of the text with a moment of silence, with the exception of the last three, which are joined with a frenzied chorale with improvised dynamics from the Harp, Wind and Strings. - Nico Muhly

Instrumentation: Soprano and Baritone voice, Flute, Clarinet in Bb, Harp, Violin, Viola and Violoncello. 

Publié le: 23 septembre 2016
Longueur: 12 minutes
Langue: Anglais
Numéro de catalogue: SRO100105-01

      Vu récemment

      Nico Muhly: Stabat Mater Dolorosa - Parts
      Soprano, Baryton, Ensemble d'École
      20,60 €