Philip Glass: Violin Concerto No 2 (Solo Violin Part)

Livre | Violon

Compositeur: Philip Glass
Format: Partitions | Partie

This is the Violin Solo Part of Philip Glass's wonderful Violin Concerto No.2 "American Four Seasons". The piece was commissioned by Toronto Symphony Orchestra and London Philharmonic Orchestra, among others, the world premiere was held in Toronto on December 9th 2009, conducted by Peter Oundjian.

At this premiere, the violinist was Robert McDuffie, for whom the Concerto was composed. During the summer and autumn of 2009, Glass composed this work after many years of exchanges with McDuffie. His idea of creating a work that would be influenced by, and an accompaniment to Vivaldi's 'The Four Seasons'. Interestingly, Glass has provided no indication in the score of where each season falls, making it open for interpretation by the performers or the audience.

Publié le: 28 mars 2017
Numéro de catalogue: DU11165-01