Einojuhani Rautavaara: Book of Visions

Livre | Orchestre

Éditeur: Boosey & Hawkes
Compositeur: Einojuhani Rautavaara
Format: Livres | Partitions d'Étude

The 35-minute orchestral suite, Book of Visions, was co-commissioned by the Orchestre National de Belgique, NHK Symphony Orchestra and Royal Scottish National Orchestra, and received its premiere in Brussels on 15 April 2005, conducted by Mikko Franck.

The work consists of four orchestral tales – of night, fire, love and fate. Each aims to extract the essence of the phenomenon, not in a descriptive way but rather as perceived by the composer metaphysically, an approach akin to that of his series of ‘Angel’ works. Although no exact narrative is intended, the final tale inevitably suggests autobiographical elements, as its composition was violently interrupted by a near-fatal heart attack in January 2004.

Numéro ISBN: 9780851627557
Publié le: 25 mai 2017
Numéro de catalogue: BH12097

      Vu récemment