Robin Holloway: Christmas Carol

Livre | SATB, Accompagnement Orgue

Éditeur: Boosey & Hawkes
Compositeur: Robin Holloway
Format: Partitions | Oeuvre Vocale

This carol was commissioned in 2002 by King’s College, Cambridge for their famous service of Nine Lessons and Carols. It tells the start of the familiar Christmas story: Gabriel's Annunciation; praise to the Virgin before she too sings "my soul doth magnify the Lord"; the shepherds a-watching their flocks by night; the angelic chorus in the sky; the fusion of celestial and earthy around the crib holding the baby who is also "Lord of Time & Space".


The text is from a variety of sources: anonymous carols of the 15th,16th & 17th centuries, Edmund Bolton (1611, "Sweet music, sweeter far..."), the Gloria from the Mass, and a couple of lines from well-loved Anglican hymns.


Selected for the Royal Philharmonic Society’s ‘Encore’ project, this carol will offer some challenge to intermediate choirs, but will add some originality to a carol service or Christmas concert.

Numéro ISBN: 9781784542375
Skill Level: Intermédiaire Explain this
Publié le: 21 août 2017
Numéro de catalogue: BH13267

      Vu récemment

      Robin Holloway: Christmas Carol
      SATB, Accompagnement Orgue
      6,90 €