Rossini: Stabat Mater

Livre | STB

Éditeur: Carus
Compositeur: Gioachino Rossini
Format: Partitions | Oeuvre Vocale

Rossini's Stabat Mater for SSTB.

Following his early departure from the opera stage in 1829, besides chamber music Gioachino Rossini composed only larger scored works of church music. The Stabat Mater is among these. It was composed in two different phases between 1831 and 1841 and received its premiere in Paris in 1842. The text is fashioned as a prayer describing Mary’s pain in the face of the crucified Christ. Time and again the vivid language of this text, a Latin poem probably from the 13th century, has inspired settings by composers including illustrious names such as Pergolesi, Joseph Haydn and Verdi. In 10 movements Rossini unites different forms such as aria, duet, quartet and chorus, an operaticaria-like style of writing as well as a strict a cappella style resulting in one of the highpoints of this genre.

Numéro ISBN: 9790007083373
Publié le: 15 août 2018
Numéro de catalogue: CV7008905

      Vu récemment